Iroquois Nationals take Silver in World Indoor Box Lacrosse Championships
Friday, June 10 2011
Written by The Circle Staff,
Average user rating    (0 vote)
Share this!
iroquis national lacrosse story.jpgThe Iroquois Nationals lost to Canada in the gold medal match at the 2011 World Indoor Lacrosse Championships in Prague on May 28. They finish the championship with one loss after playing Ireland, the Czech Republic, and the USA in the round-robin, and facing the Czech Republic again in the semi-finals.
"We are incredibly proud of our players," stated Percy Abrams, Executive Director of the Iroquois Nationals. "We played well. We played hard, with the pride and honor of our people behind us to the end. We were up against a very strong opponent in Canada and we never backed down. Congratulations to Canada. Congratulations to the Iroquois Nationals. Congratulations to Czech Republic and all of the participating teams for making this a great tournament".
Goaltender Matt Vinc made 23 saves and was named the game's most valuable player as Canada beat the Iroquois Nationals 13-6 to win the world indoor lacrosse championship.
Cory Bomberry scored twice for the Iroquois, while Dean Hill, Roger Vyse, Jeff Shattler and Cody Jamieson once each. The Nationals won silver for the third straight time.
The Iroquois' starting goaltender Mike Thompson had to be replaced by Angus Goodleaf after being injured in the second quarter. Thompson made five saves, followed by Goodleaf's 19 stops.
Shattler is from Edmonton and Vyse is from Hagersville, Ont. Bomberry, Hill and Jamieson are all from the Six Nations of the Grand River Territory in Ontario. Goodleaf is from the Kahnawake Mohawk Territory in Quebec.
"When you talk about lacrosse, you're talking about the lifeblood of the Six Nations," explained Oren Lyons, Onondaga Faithkeeper and a former All-American lacrosse goalie. "The game is ingrained into our culture and our lives."
"To know that people are playing our game, and playing it well, all over the world - that means a lot to us," stated Percy Abrams. "We want to thank everyone who made it possible for our team to compete in this championship. All the players, the organizers, our partners, our fans, our elders and leaders, and everyone who helped us as we traveled internationally - you all contributed to our proud effort. Nya wenha."

Users' Comments (0)

No comment posted

Add your comment

Fatal error: Call to undefined function _getNoticeCopyright() in /home/content/70/12981770/html/mambots/content/maxcommentbot.php(418) : eval()'d code on line 14